Lent (aka no bacon!?!)

Tomorrow – February 13, 2013 – is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent. While I am not as good about attending mass as often as I should, I do typically try to abide by the obligatory rules of fasting and abstinence during Lent:

  • Fasting: on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday (March 29, 2013), reducing the amount of food consumed to one meal. Although two smaller meals may also be eaten, together they should not exceed the size of the one meal.
  • Abstinence: On Ash Wednesday and all Fridays throughout Lent, abstaining from meat (which includes flesh of mammals and fowl and gravies made from them but does not include fish).

*True, the rules are different depending upon where you live and your faith. These are the rules for Roman Catholics in the U.S.*

Tomorrow also will mark my first foray into Lent while attempting to remain paleo-compliant (and let’s not forget BCF’s Nutrition Challenge either!). So the title of this post might be a slight overstatement. It probably should read “Lent (aka no bacon–or other meat–on Ash Wednesday or Fridays for the next 46 days!?!),” but that title just doesn’t seem as snappy!

The first problem I recognized a week or so ago: my Custom Fit Meals are all meat-based. Of course, this is not the worst thing in the world. I can simply defer eating the planned Friday meals until Saturday. What it does mean (and the second problem), however, is that for the next 6 weeks, I will no longer have meals in the refrigerator that I can just grab on Friday. I will actually need to do a bit of planning and cooking. Again, this doesn’t pose a huge issue; it’s really just a matter of logistics … oh, and research. A girl can only eat tuna fish so often!

I’m not a chef, but I can cook and follow a recipe. To that end, I will look for some tasty recipes and post what I find and what I try here.

To get things started, here is the Paleo Bread recipe that I made last night. Of course it’s not a complete meal, but it may provide some additional meal options (tuna fish sandwich, anyone?).

Paleo “Bread”

Ingredients

  • 4-5 pastured eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups organic almond butter
  • 1 1/2 tbsp organic lemon juice
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a bowl, mix all ingredients
  3. Pour mixed ingredients into a loaf pan
  4. Bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when stuck into the center of the loaf
  5. Cool completely on a wire rack

Recipe Notes

I used coconut oil spray to line the loaf pan, and the bread came out nicely. Also note that it is important to cool the bread outside of a container – otherwise, it will remain extremely moist and have a soggy texture. A note on baking soda: I’m not really sure if it’s technically “allowed” as paleo. I’ve seen sources that consider it “paleo-ish.” I take the view that the amount of baking soda is minimal in any recipe, so that’s good enough. Happy to hear thoughts on it though 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lent (aka no bacon!?!)

Leave a Reply

